MINUTES

Virginia Port Authority Board of Commissioners Executive Committee Meeting May 22, 2017

The Virginia Port Authority ("VPA") Executive Committee ("Committee") held a meeting on May 22, 2017, in the VPA's Conference Room, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, Virginia.

The following were then in attendance:

Executive Committee Members Present:

John G. Milliken, VPA Chairman

John N. Pullen, VPA Vice Chairman

Jennifer D. Aument

Alan A. Diamonstein, Chair/Growth and Operations Committee

Gary T. McCollum, Chair/Finance and Audit Committee

Board Members Present:

Manju S. Ganeriwala Val S. McWhorter Stephen Moret Faith B. Power Deborah C. Waters F. Blair Wimbush

VPA Staff:

John F. Reinhart, CEO and Executive Director James Bibbs, Chief Human Resources Officer Cathie Vick, Chief Public Affairs Officer Rodney W. Oliver, Chief Financial Officer Joseph P. Ruddy, Chief Innovation Officer James W. Noel, III, General Counsel Debra J. McNulty, Secretary to the Board

Virginia International Terminals (VIT) LLC Staff:

Thomas D. Capozzi, Chief Sales Officer Shawn Tibbetts, Chief Operations Officer

Guests:

The Hon. Aubrey L. Layne, Jr., Secretary of Transportation Stephen Cobb, Deputy Attorney General-Transportation Division W. Brice Fiske, Assistant Attorney General-Transportation Division

Chairman Milliken called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. and asked for a motion to go into closed session at this time.

Motion for Closed Session

Motion was read by Vice Chairman Pullen, "to go into closed session in accordance with The Virginia Freedom of Information Act, pursuant to the requirements of §2.2-3711(A)(38), and the provisions of §62.1-132.4, to discuss proprietary information and data furnished to the VPA in confidence relating

Executive Committee Minutes May 22, 2017 – Page 2

to the Port's strategic growth and sustainability plan; and pursuant to the requirements of §2.2-3711(A)(1), the personnel exemption, to discuss the performance of specific employees of the Virginia Port Authority and its subsidiaries."

The motion was seconded by Mr. McCollum.

(Chairman Milliken excused guests and staff members from the meeting at this time, with the exception of the Secretary.)

Open Session

At 4:00 p.m., the Executive Committee came out of closed session and the following motion was read by Vice Chairman Pullen

"WHEREAS, the Executive Committee has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of The Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, §2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Committee certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under this chapter were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered by the Committee."

The motion was seconded by Mr. McCollum.

A roll call vote of the Executive Committee members, certifying the closed session, was conducted as follows:

Ayes: 5 (Milliken, Pullen, Aument, Diamonstein, McCollum)

Nays: 0

Absent During Vote: 0
Absent During Meeting: 0

There were no public comments and the meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Debra J. McNulty Secretary to the Board