## MINUTES Virginia Port Authority Board of Commissioners Executive Committee Meeting January 9, 2023

The Virginia Port Authority ("VPA") Executive Committee ("Committee") held a meeting on January 9, 2023 in the VPA Boardroom, 600 World Trade Center, 101 W Main St, Norfolk, Virginia.

#### **Committee Members Present:**

Committee Members Absent:

Deborah C. Waters

Aubrey L. Layne, Chair Faith B. Power, Vice Chair John C. Asbury James C. Burnett

## **Board Members Present:**

Michael W. Coleman Jason El Koubi John W. Kirk III Edward F. O'Callaghan David L. Richardson

## VPA Staff Present:

Stephen A. Edwards, CEO and Executive Director Cathie J. Vick, Chief Development and Public Affairs Officer Sarah J. McCoy, General Counsel and Chief Administrative Officer

## Virginia International Terminals, LLC Staff Present:

Ashley Fisher, Vice President, Strategy

## Guests:

Honorable Shep Miller, Secretary of Transportation

## **Open Session**

Chair Layne called the meeting to order at 5:00pm.

## **Closed Session**

At 5:00pm, Chair Layne requested a motion to go into closed session. The motion was made by Commissioner Asbury as follows:

"I move that the VPA Board's Executive Committee convene a closed meeting in accordance with The Virginia Freedom of Information Act, pursuant to the requirements of §2.2-3711(A)(1) to discuss the employment, assignment, appointment, promotion, performance and salaries of specific employees of a public body, and the provisions of §2.2-3705.6, to discuss proprietary data furnished to the VPA in confidence, and the provisions of §2.2-3711(A)(6) for the discussion or consideration of the investment of public funds where competition or bargaining is involved, where, if made public initially, the financial interest of the governmental unit would be adversely affected."

The motion was seconded by Commissioner Burnett and passed by a vote of the Executive Committee Members and ex officio members as follows:

# MINUTES Virginia Port Authority Board of Commissioners Executive Committee Meeting January 9, 2023

Ayes: 4 (Layne, Power, Asbury, Burnett) Nays: 0 Abstention: 0 Absent During Vote: 1 (Waters) Absent During Meeting: 1 (Waters)

## **Certification of Closed Session**

At 5:45pm, the Executive Committee came out of closed session and the following resolution was made by Commissioner Asbury:

"I move the following resolution,

Whereas, the Executive Committee has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of The Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

Whereas, §2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

Now, therefore, be it resolved, that the Committee member certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under this chapter were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matter as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered by the Committee."

The resolution was seconded by Commissioner Burnett and passed by a roll call vote of the Executive Committee Members and ex officio members as follows:

Ayes: 4 (Layne, Power, Asbury, Burnett) Nays: 0 Abstention: 0 Absent During Vote: 1 (Waters) Absent During Meeting: 1 (Waters)

There were no members of the public present for comment and the meeting adjourned at 5:46pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Ryane A. Shields

Ryanne A. Shields Secretary to the Board